Introduction: What’s Your Story?

I'm D.M. Kilgore. Welcome To My Realm!  We all have a story to tell. This is mine. Writing, Reading, and Reality!

Everyone has a story to tell …

This is Mine.

I'm D.M. Kilgore. Welcome To My Realm!Greetings! I am D.M. Kilgore.

Freelance Writer, Novelist, and Literary Hitwoman. I’m a genre gypsy and my muse, Sybil, suffers from Dissociative Identity Disorder. Actually, suffer might not be the right word. She quite seems to enjoy it.

In my world,  “The Realm”, one question seems to come up more than any other:

How do you do it?

How do I find time to write? How do I afford to stay home? How do I juggle “it all”?

Seriously, if I had a penny for every time someone had asked me how I do it all…

tumblr_ly2iloRdth1qg39ewo1_500.gif

I’d be able to retire on a tropical island that I paid for with pennies…. right now.

How do I do it?

Well, I’ve taken Virginia Wolf’s advice to heart. I have a room of my own, but my career as a writer of stories large and small… let’s just say I have to keep a few side gigs to avoid being a starving artist. I have my side gig as a proofreading assassin, another as an independent consultant for a direct sales company, and another as an ambassador for a top health and wellness company.

On top of my career and side hustles, I’m also a full-time wife, domestically challenged homemaker, mom to a thirteen year old autistic son and a 25 year old “flew the coop”son, as well as a grand-mom to a two year old grandson. I’m a homeschool teacher, and I’m a college student. I run my own death row dog rescue and foster program. I’m a wanna-be fitness enthusiast, photographer, and artist. I’m also a devotee of several television series, and a voracious bookworm.

Busy? Yes. Crazy? You could say that.

I’m crazy about my life and everything that makes it complete.

It’s  a lot to juggle. More than once I’ve found myself facing the very real possibility that I might have to let go of one dream in order to pursue another. When it comes right down to it though… I just don’t want to.

I’m kind of in a Veruca Salt season of life. I want it. I want it all. And I want it now.

giphy.gif

Choosing between my dreams and passions? That’s a brutal decision that I’ll do just about anything to avoid. I’m pretty good at planning, and I’m really good at creating highly detailed schedules. So, that’s what I do. I plan, and I schedule, and I work my butt off trying to stay on track. But I have a problem…

The Joy Killer.

She’s a terribly wicked villain. And she’s after me. Hard.

I'll_get_you_my_pretty.gif

She makes the Wicked Witch look like Mary Poppins.

The Joy Killer is the evil mastermind behind all the chaos and drama that trips me up. She loves to poke holes in my logic, ridicule my plans, and rip my schedules to shreds.

Some of her favorite weapons are self-doubt, pessimism, distraction, procrastination, and fear.

I’m pretty tough, but I don’t stand a chance against this nemesis without a little help.

That’s where The Hitwoman comes in. She’s got some serious skills and an impressive arsenal. Together, we’re going to take on –and take out– The Joy Killer.

Want to know a secret?

The Hitwoman is hot on The Joy Killer’s trail. She’s already uncovered one of her dastardly plans: “Operation: You Can’t”.

Oh my!

It looks like we’re off on our first mission! Good thing we’ve got a plan of our own!

Stay Tuned!

 

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.
What’s YOUR story?

I'm D.M. Kilgore. Welcome To My Realm!  Writing, Reading, and Reality!

The purpose of this blog is to track down the “Joy Killers” that attempt to keep us from reaching our potential, succeeding at our pursuits, and realizing our dreams. We’re going to work together, under the close supervision of The Hitwoman to target and annihilate every obstacle the Joy Killer throws our way! It’s time to dream more, learn more, do more, and become more. Join me for a whirlwind journey of personal discovery and development. Together we will hunt down the enemy and thwart her evil plans. Lock and load. It’s time to assassinate The Joy Killer. Are you ready?

If so…
This blog is for you.

CRASH COURSE IN NOVEL LIVING
Buckle Up & Brace For Impact!


Author D.M. Kilgore, The Literary Hitwoman, Freelance Writer, Novelist, DMKilgore.com“I am a once lost and broken soul who now knows the joy and beauty of being made whole.  I write about broken people striving to find their way to that place where they too realize the joy of being whole again.  Hope in the face of desperate circumstances is a recurring theme in my novels.”




DMK BRANDED LOGO trnsprnt
© D.M. Kilgore, and Phoenix Realm Publications LLC, 2012-2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to D.M. Kilgore with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. We reserve the right to request any duplication of its material be taken down immediately.
I want to hear from you! Comment below!

